As we head in to the New Year there are new driving laws that went in to effect in California on January 1st. Some of the new laws could impact you, and could cost you a fine. Below is a list of the new law:
- Child Safety-Children under 2 years of age must ride rear facing in a safety seat. (children weighing 40 or more pounds or are 40 inches or taller are exempt) Also the law continues to require all children under the age of eight to be restrained in appropriate child safety seats in the back seat of a vehicle.
- Use of Electronic Devices-You are no longer permitted to hold a wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications while driving a vehicle unless the device is mounted on the vehicle windshield or dashboard in a way that doesn’t hinder the driver’s view of the road. Drivers are only allowed to activate or deactivate a feature or function on the device with a single swipe or tap and cannot do that while holding the device,
- Click Here to read the new law
- Vehicle Registration Fee-Increases the vehicle registration fee on every vehicle or trailer coach from $43 to $53 beginning April 1
- DUI–Ignition Interlock Device– The new law requires a DUI offender to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a specific time period in order to get a restricted license or to reinstate their license
- Motorcycles/Lane Splitting– Although the law does not change the bill defines lane splitting as driving a motorcycle which has two wheels in contact with the ground, between rows of stopped or moving vehicles in the same lane
- School Bus Safety-The law now requires all school buses, pupil activity buses, youth buses and child care vehicles used to transport school age children to be equipped with a ‘child safety alert system’. Also every school is required to have a transportation safety plan with procedures to ensure that a pupil is not left unattended in the vehicleNew California Driving Laws for 2017